Mama lost in the Burbs's Blog

adventures of being a mom and other ramblings by me

Making it Official! March 5, 2011

Filed under: Making it official — mama lost in the burbs @ 11:42 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m making my workout official.  If I don’t have someone to hold me accountable I’ll never accomplish what I want to do.  What do I want to do, you ask?  I want to find time for me at least 5-6 times a week, to exercise and re-group.  I’ve always worked out without any issues.  I did it because I needed too, because I could and because I love it.  Now, well between being mom, a wife, a full-time employee and running my own business, I, me, myself have fallen through the cracks.  I need to remind myself that I too need to be allowed some me time.  I love exercise, it’s really the only drug I was ever addicted too.   I crave the high that you get from sweating, from breathing hard and from feeling your muscles scream.  I love it!  I dream about it, I plan for it and then…. Life, it gets in the way of my love affair with the gym, pavement, court or trail.  I get caught up in preschool, gymnastics and feeding schedules.

So before all your eyes I’m making me a top priority.  I am going to get to the gym, trail, court or pavement at least 5 times a week.  I don’t mind bringing the people who call me mom, or even the guy that they call dad.  In fact I love it, but it needs to happen.  I’m going to try to post my latest adventures each day.

So here’s today’s.  Today Hunk and I hit the trail and ran a hilly, ass kicking 8 miles.  I found my heart beating hard, my lungs coming alive and my legs screaming for more.  We spent most of the run without seeing any other people and having a chance to re-connect in a way that we haven’t in a while.  It’s amazing how refreshing it is to have a date on the run.  We ran, laughed and talked about our plans.  This isn’t our first run, it’s not even our 2nd we’ve been doing our runs on the weekend for about 4 months now and loving every second.  Today we just needed to be alone together and remember why we picked each other.  As much as we thrive off of being mom and dad there are times when it’s nice to be us.

My goal is set and my mind is made up.  Today was a success, I’m already planning my adventure for tomorrow.

 

One Response to “Making it Official!”

  1. Good for you, it’s so important to have your me time so you can be a better mom and wife. My husband and I walk together when the weather isn’t horrible. I don’t think the whole running thing and talking would work. Somehow I’d forget to breathe and then I’m sure I’d fall?

    Happy date running!

    Megan


Leave a Reply

