Mama lost in the Burbs's Blog

adventures of being a mom and other ramblings by me

The rant of all rants February 19, 2011

Filed under: Ramblings — mama lost in the burbs @ 11:10 pm

I’m an average person.  I’m 5’7″ (average) average build, average blond hair, average average average.  I’m OK with being average because like it’s definition most people are average.  But what about the people who seem to have it all.  You know the people who have the skills you might be willing to part with a limb for, not really or maybe just hesitant but say no eventually.  Anyway I played volleyball and basketball I can kick a soccer ball and run a few miles w/out stopping, but really who can’t with a little practise.  I’m talking about the really skilled people, ones that seem to be born with, set skill, already oozing from their pores.

I’m not gonna lie, I envy, am jealous of anyone that can sew or create.  Yes I said it, it’s out in the world and I can’t take it back.  I would do almost anything to have a slightly creative bone in my body.  I have a mildly creative mind and ability that laughs at the mere thought of trying to (insert any artistic form here)  I have tried, oh how I’ve tried.  Sewing classes, painting, photography, nope, hahahah, almost, but fail.  I don’t know what it is? OK, I sort of know, but that would be placing blame on me and I want to blame it on others!  I won’t mention the fact that I have the hardest time with follow through!  I can’t finish anything, really the only 2 projects I’ve ever started and completed was pregnancy.

I am captain great idea all the while being queen, well I got this far now what.  I’m 31 years old I’m going on a limb and say I’m not going to change.  It might be part of my DNA or genetic code.  I don’t have siblings so can’t compare their shortcomings or abilities to my own.  My parents are an odd couple to say the least so really no help there.  My mom is a writer, teacher all around brain.  My dad comes from an eclectic mix of painters (house), musicians and social butterflies.  The weirdest part is everything that you might want from this random gene pool I didn’t get.  I can’t spell worth a hamsters weight, seriously it’s a running joke.  My mom is a walking dictionary, definition, spelling and origin.  My dad that would take to long to talk about.  Do I blame them for my inability to excel?

I’m left to wonder, am I the only one that feels this way?!  Is there anyone else out there, even you super crafty ladies that I envy!  That feel like you lack something, but can’t fix it?  Are we all just not meant to be amazing crafters, athletes, writers, sewers…  Do we get one thing we’re good at and then have to be happy with that one thing?  What happens if your blind to your one thing?  I’m not kidding when I say I’m average.  I’m not good/great at one thing, I told you this was a rant.  I’ve thought about it and really my list of attributes are pretty sad.  I do a lot of things just none of them worth a dime.

So if your an average lady what do you excel at?  What is something that you can think of that makes you proud?

The one thing that I have learned about myself that I’m actually proud of and find to be a “talent” of sorts is the ability to think of ways to expand other people’s businesses.  Now this would be a great talent if I could use it for my own business, but again that whole follow through thing.

At least my 2 finished projects turned out nice

 

Leave a Reply

