Mama lost in the Burbs's Blog

adventures of being a mom and other ramblings by me

B loves to mix mix September 18, 2010

The other day B asked if she could help me mix mix (code for cooking) Sure sounds fun.  I ask her if she had anything specific she’d like to make.

B “Cupcakes”  Classic right and not really shocked

Me “How about muffins instead?”

B “Ya that’s what I was talking about, muffins”

Me “So you didn’t want cupcakes”

B ” Oh cupcakes that’s a great idea Mom!!  Dad will love if you make cupcakes and I can help”  Yes some how she was able to fool me into saying Make and Cupcakes in the same sentence which translated to let’s make cupcakes.  I know crazy

Me “muffins it is”  I couldn’t admit that a 3 year old outsmarted me, at least not to her!

So we made my favorite buttermilk oatmeal, cranberry muffins.  I know it’s a mouth full to say, but sooo tasty!  My sister-in-law gave me the receipt about a year ago and I have been making them on a monthly basis ever since.

The eggs are actually from our chickens and yes they are green.  They also lay a blue color egg, but mostly this green.

Here is the receipt to these amazing little treats.  I like to pretend that they aren’t that bad for you, but really they have butter, sugar and buttermilk.  Worth every calorie.

OATMEAL MUFFINS
1 cup old fashioned rolled oats
1 cup of buttermilk
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup dried cranberries or whatever other dried fruit you like
In a large bowl, combine oats and buttermilk and let stand 1 hour.
Preheat oven to 400 degrees and butter or line 12 muffin tins.
Add egg, sugar and butter to oat mixture, stirring just until combined.
Into another large bowl, sift together flour salt and baking powder, and baking soda and add to oat mixture, stirring until just combined.  Fold in cranberries.
Divide batter evenly among muffin tins.  Bake 20 minutes.
Little extra.  If your feeling feisty experiment with dried fruit. I found that mango and cranberry are a good combo.  Apricots are great and I’m pretty sure that strawberries would be tasty as well.  I haven’t tried fresh or frozen fruit yet, but I might give that a whirl soon.
ENJOY!!!
 

Leave a Reply

